> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://insightsoftware-preview.mintlify.site/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Grant Permissions For A Visual

<b>This applies to</b>: *Visual Data Discovery*

You can grant read, write, or delete visual permissions for your tenant, groups in your tenant, or specific users in your tenant.

<b>Grant permissions for a visual</b>

1. Log into Symphony as an administrator or a user belonging to a group that includes the <b>Administer Visuals</b> or the <b>Manage Visual Permissions</b> privilege.

2. Access the Visual Permissions dialog. Select the <b>Visual Gallery</b> option from the menu. The Visuals page appears.

3. Locate the row for the visual in the list and select the permissions icon in the <b>Permissions</b> column. The Visual Permissions dialog appears.

Initially, this dialog is populated with the permissions for the visual creator.

4. Select <b>Add</b> on the Visual Permissions dialog and then select <b>Groups</b>,<b>Users</b>, or <b>Tenant</b> from the drop-down menu.

   * If you select <b>Groups</b> , the Add Groups dialog appears, listing all the groups available in your tenant. The supplied groups are not shown; permissions can not be changed for those groups.

   * If you select <b>Users</b> , the Add Users dialog appears, listing all the users available in your tenant.

   * If you select <b>Tenant</b> , Read permission is selected for your tenant on the Visual Permissions dialog.

   * Members of the Administrators group have read, write, and delete permissions for every visual in the tenant.

   * The user who created the visual is automatically selected and has <b>Read</b>,<b>Write</b>, and <b>Delete</b> permissions unless you revoke these permissions.

5. Select the tenant or any specific groups or users you want to permit to read, write, or delete the visual and select <b>Apply</b>. The Visual Permissions dialog lists your selections.

6. Select the <b>Read</b>,<b>Write</b>, or <b>Delete</b> checkboxes for the tenant, groups, or users to indicate what users in them can do with the visual.<b>Read</b> permission is assumed and is always selected. If you clear (uncheck) the <b>Read</b> box (revoke <b>Read</b> permission), permission for the entire visual is revoked for the tenant, group, or user after you save.

7. Select <b>Save</b>. The Save Details dialog appears, listing the changes that you made.

8. Review the changes and select <b>OK</b>. The visual permissions are set.

<b>Permissions for imported objects</b>

When you [import dashboards](/logi-symphony/symphony/v24/dashboards/import-dashboards), associated resources such as visuals, sources, and connections are imported as well. You can quickly grant default access levels to all imported and associated objects in your tenants by enabling <b>Share Default Access With All Users</b> at import time. Users are granted Data Access to Sources and Read access to Visuals and Dashboards.
